Tour Jlhongm

Just about tour information

Tag Archive: Nationwide Tour


Just six events remain of the Nationwide Tour’s 2010 schedule, the first of those played this week at the Midland Country Club in Midland in Texas where the WNB Golf Classic is up for decision.

The Ralph Plummer designed layout first hosted this event in 2002 and has provided the venue since.Putter Series

Although the tournament carries one of the lesser purses on the 2010 Nationwide Tour, its timing is crucial as events begin to run out for those not already assured of PGA Tour status in 2011.

Three of the leading five players on this year’s money list are in the field, the leading player, Jamie Lovemark, and number two, Chris Kirk, taking a break before the final few events of the season.

Tommy Gainey, last week’s winner Hunter Haas and Martin Piller are however in the field and should make their presence felt given the seasons they have had to date.Ping Golf

Previous winners D.J Brigman and Brad Adamonis are also playing the event although it is hard to see Adamonis repeating his success at the Midland Golf Club given the form slump he is in right now. Brigman on the other hand was a recent winner on the Nationwide Tour and last week in Idaho finished 9th.

Another player in this week’s field who has played this venue well is Australian Mark Hensby who has been runner-up on three occasions. Hensby is in 70th position on this year’s money list but a big finish over the next few weeks could change that quickly. His third round 65 in Utah two weeks ago gave an indication that he is not far from where he needs to be to continue his good run at this course.Civilians Sports

Other Australasians in the field are Alistair Presnell, Ewan Porter, Nick Flanagan, Bronson La Cassie, Adam Bland, Steve Bowditch, Steve Alker, James Nitties, Andrew Buckle, David Lutterus, Phil Tataurangi, Tim Wilkinson and Jamie Arnold.

The event has been good to Australians, Paul Gow winning when played in Odessa and Marc Leishman blitzing the field at this venue in 2008.